I know a freelance stripper

Movie # 27:

Written and directed by Leslye Headland and Produced by Will Ferrell and Adam McKay (who have worked together since SNL).

This was an off-Broadway creation of Headland’s before she adapted it into a movie and it caught my attention opening the credits with Sleigh Bells (pure awesomeness). 

Plot: The “B-faces” are 4 friends from high school, who are reunited when the least popular of their group, Becky, (Rebel Wilson) announces she is getting married.

The main events/conflict/drama of the film takes place the disastrous night before the wedding…mostly involving a catastrophe with the wedding dress. So the whole time the film focuses on Becky’s Bridesmaids-Regan (Kirsten Dunst), Gena (Lizzy Caplan) and Katie (Isla Fisher). They’re all very unhappy individuals, all in very unique ways.

Regan (Dunst), plans and organizes the whole thing, but not without a lot of resentment and an almost loathing attitude for Becky. She doesn’t understand how she could be getting married before her….making her my least favorite character, because she was a raging bitch. Even when you were supposed to “feel bad” for her, I really didn’t. The bachelor’s sum her up by saying: “You know how there are serial killers, and then there’s Hannibal Lecter? Well, there are women, and then there’s Regan.”

I was really excited to see Lizzy Caplan and Adam Scott, together again! Gena was the “tough” one in the group. The crude, use men as objects, routinely hungover one. They play each other’s ex’s from high school and have a rocky re-introduction. Their chemistry has always been amazing and they were perfect together.

By far though, Isla Fisher as Katie stole the show for me. She was sweet, hilarious and innocent in a very…dumb way, because she really wasn’t that innocent. She was kind of a like the “deer in headlights” the whole time-high and drunk and couldn’t be left alone.

That’s the one thing I didn’t really like. The characters all fit this sort of mold…they grew a little bit at the end. And I found it hard to believe that they would be friends with Becky till now, if they never really liked her in High School. Rebel was a sweetie in this, and I wish they gave her more time in the movie…I mean she was the Bride! The whole “best friend” situation, where you go around bad mouthing her behind her back and may at times secretly want to kill her, is sadly very believable. I know a pair of girls like that at work…girls are weird, I know, but so are guys.

Anyway, speaking of guys, there was a great group for the movie. I first heard of Kyle Bornheimer and Hayes MacArthur from the NBC show (that didn’t last) “Perfect Couples.”  On the groom’s side, Kyle was my favorite, as Joe, the nice guy who has liked Katie since High School. James Marsden’s in there too, thrown in as the asshole best man…I usually like him, but you weren’t meant to here.

All in all, it was a good movie. I mean it wasn’t as funny as I thought it would be, but I liked it for the characters. The story was a little unrealistic for me. I guess if I was into cocaine, and having no life when I’m in my 30’s and if I was friends with psychotically, depressed women than it would be a different story…that sounds a little harsh. I liked it! It wasn’t all it was hyped up to be, is all I’m trying to say. I would gladly watch another movie written by Headland in the future.

4 thoughts on “I know a freelance stripper

  1. I’m not surprised that Kiki plays the most unlikable character in the movie, as well, I find her the most unlikable actress. But yeah, looking forward to seeing Lizzy Caplan though. I dunno why, but I seem to like her lots.

    I should probably watch Bridesmaids before this though.

  2. I have a link to my review of this on my blog but I despised this film. The three girls are so unlikeable I wondered why Rebel Wilson’s character even liked this considering how sweet she is. I equated it to watching three girls who peaked in high school still bitching about things that happened ten years ago.

    • That’s a good way to sum it up! Like I said, I didn’t understand how they were all still friends or at least with Becky. The three of them were sooo miserable, which is why I liked Katie b/c she wasn’t mean or bitchy like her two friends-She was just along for the ride and just wanted to be around her friends again. The movie tried a little too hard to be funny, with very unstable characters, making it hard to laugh at most of the “jokes.”

Type Away:

