Don’t do bad things

Movie # 21 (was on my queue!):

This isn’t what I expected it to be, but I’m glad.  I’ve heard so many things and the thing that turned me off the most was reviews of Vincent Gallo’s Brown Bunny. There was so much controversy about it, that I wondered about watching this one…like I said, I’m glad I did.

The plot: After being released from prison, Billy kidnaps a girl and makes her pretend they are married to impress his mom and pop.

After watching the first few minutes, I was concerned where he was going with it all. But patience friends.

Christina Ricci is so adorably sad in this, I fell in love with her character. She was so lonely and messed up herself that she went along with the whole thing…although, I don’t know how realistic it would really be. I would fight the whole time and try to escape!

Vincent Gallo is so deliciously douchey, that somehow you learn to root for him in the end. His and Ricci’s dynamic is so confusing that it’s addicting and amusing to watch.

Anjelica Huston (I didn’t even recognize her!) and Ben Gazzara, play the parents you love to hate. The hostility and direct insults made me squirm. Although after the build-up and everyone meeting each other, I started wondering where he was going with the story, again. He also scattered lots of different film techniques throughout, making it seem a little indecisive and almost as if you were watching different movies at one time.

All in all though, I really liked it. It’s one of those fucked up films you love to watch…a sick comedy, you can’t help laughing at.

The story about these two strangers, alone and depressed in there own states, learning to let each other in is what really brought the story together for me.

Also, I really loved Kevin Corrigan as Goon. Does anyone know why he was uncredited?

Type Away:

