The Gold Chain Gang and First Encounters

I’ve had a lot of short first impressions in my life. You know those encounters with people you will probably never see again? Kind of like in the movie Lost in Translation…Yeah so it’s happened a lot. The moment you both click, even though you barely know each other, is amazing. I like when it happens, but I definitely don’t look for it.

It happened again the other night when I went out with my friends. I wasn’t looking for anything, but spending a fun night with my gals…there was a slew of first encounters.

We met a man-whore from Michigan, I made friends with the Irish bartender and asked him if he’s ever watched Downton Abbey…when he told me he didn’t, I told him he should. The last was the “gold-chain gang.” That’s the name I gave them, because they were all wearing gold-chains around their neck. They were all Caucasians.

Well, I was having a bum night, kind of because one of my good friends throws herself at everybody and partly because I was just bored. After the Michigan man found out my friend was too fast, he started hitting on me, but I wasn’t taking that shit. That’s when…(I’m going to call him) Michael came over. He was part of the gold chain members, but he wasn’t outside smoking with the rest of them, which was a huge plus in my book.

We clicked right away, both love animals, both work a lot, both in very long-term relationships that ended really badly. He seemed like a really nice guy, and was not what I was expecting to come out of that night. He asked for my number and text me to make sure I got home ok. Nice, right?

I have trust issues, and I put myself out there just giving this guy my number. I kept telling myself: sometimes bad things come out of good things, and sometimes things are just too good to be true.

I was right.

He text me the same day of our “date” to say he was in an “on-off relationship” currently (aka girlfriend), and it was wrong of him to ask me on a date while that was still going on. He didn’t think it was right and apologized for everything…”you’re a very nice girl” blah, blah.

At first I was pissed.

Then I was sad.

And then I snapped myself out of it. I mean I only met him that once! Not a big deal. Actually thanked him for telling me the truth, because I didn’t want to get involved in some drama or girl-on-girl fighting. I wished him well and told him to be up front from the start, next time.

Sigh.

Oh well.

One of my closest friends, who lives in PA asked me about the whole encounter and as I described him my memory must of been blurred with the rum that night, because his face blurred with Michael Fassbender’s (LOL!). The first thing she asked me was: “Who’s Michael Fassbender??” I was howling by then!

Lesson: Guys ONLY approach a girl and ask for her number if you are single! Don’t lead her on and say “I’m looking forward to seeing you again :)” K?

2 thoughts on “The Gold Chain Gang and First Encounters

  1. Just curious, if he had done everything he did, except ask for your number, would that be okay? I mean, is the number-asking the one defining difference between sociably mingling and flirting?

    • Yeah it would have been fine! I wasn’t looking for anything but mingling and He’s the one who turned it into something else. I like meeting new people and don’t necessarily talk to them to go on a date.

Type Away:

