Lighten Up (and do something different)

Book # 7:

So, when I said later tonight, I really meant early next morning…

This book was interesting, but went a little over my head sometimes. The concepts and “teachings” were easy enough to understand, but not being familiar with Buddhism, I kept saying: “what does this word mean again?” Good thing they had a glossary in the back!

It’s an introductory book on 108 of Chodron’s teachings. Bringing to light concepts, themes and practices that can help you with the challenges of daily living.

Like I said, I found it interesting and some of the concepts hit home with me, but others not so much. I’m not a Buddhist and after reading this I think it would be nice, but difficult for me to achieve. She talks about breathing in bad feelings of anger, jealousy and ignorance, recognizing them and letting them go “out of your storyline.” I don’t know about you, but that’s a little hard for me. I have a lot of anger in me and i think the only way I can let it out is punching something or working out.

I liked her teaching that “nothing is solid.” She says that engaging in addictions and fantasies that make us feel secure and comfortable are short lived. She says moving away and separating from a love, for example, gives you a sense of freedom.

“Moving away from comfort and security, this stepping out into what is unknown, uncharted, and shaky-that’s called liberation.”

Also, her teaching of lightening up is pretty straightforward, but easier said than done.

“This goal-oriented, we’re going-to-do-it-or-else attitude, is the world’s greatest killjoy. There’s no sense of appreciation because we’re so solemn about everything. In contrast, a joyful mind is very ordinary and relaxed. So lighten up. Don’t make such a big deal.”

Both of these quotes are really encouraging me to move on with my life and quit my job. I’ve been very unhappy there lately and have let it really consume me with drama and anxiety. So I’m gonna try to lighten up. Not going to let it control me, because its just a job! I can find another one pretty easily.

Her teachings are presented very basically and not with much depth, because like I said it’s an introduction. She mentions how hard it is to be a Buddhist and that you need to work at it and if you do you have chosen the path of the “warrior.” We all have armor we carry on us, to protect from things, be them good or bad. We need to recognize them and peel them off.

Well, If your into mediation and Buddhism you should give this book a look. I read it because some one recommended it. It’s a pretty easy and quick read, like the real Eat, Pray, Love (I never finished reading that…I honestly lost interest).

Let me know what you think and I’ll put up a trailer later!

One thought on “Lighten Up (and do something different)

  1. Sorry to leave this on your comments but I don’t have an email address for you. You signed up for my upcoming Universal Backlot Blogathon and I’m getting ready to send out some emails to all the contributors but I don’t have an email address for you. If you could email me I’d greatly appreciate it. Happy to have you participating!!!!

Type Away:

