Please clarify

Movie # 20:

I did it again. I watched another movie I didn’t get or really like. Another “What the hell did I just watch?!” I got the main concept, but the progression of the story and action was a little ridiculous…in my opinion anyway.

The plot: A team of astronauts, in a future where our sun is dying, is on a mission to deliver a “payload” or stellar bomb that will basically re-ignite/create a new star. Kinda crazy already, right?

Reason I watched: My sister. I blame a lot of things on her, lol. She has a thing for Irish men and she used to be obsessed with Cillian Murphy, before her Fassbender days. It was playing on IFC, so I watched it with her…woo.

Alright, so before judging any plot I give it a chance. I mean, I like sci-fi movies, don’t get me wrong. But they have to have a good story! I’ve read other reviews about this film and a lot of people like it, so sorry if I offend you with this post.

At the beginning I was open to the idea of a dying sun and their mission, etc. Movies that take place in the future can always take certain leaps, but when I’m waiting for there to be a plot twist and I’m not sure what genre I’m watching, I get bored. This happened early on with Sunshine. 

At first, I wasn’t sure if they were trying to make a drama or a thriller. And they even poke fun at themselves when Chris Evans’ character jokes by saying: “We might get picked off one at a time by aliens.”

Half way through, when there is a change of course, (literally the ship is de-toured) and there is some conflict I expect things to pick up and they do…but the big twist was just crazy. Some details weren’t explained very well and there was some nasty skin-peeling scenes…gross, don’t want to go into details or spoilers.

It was a mission that would take many many years to complete and the Icarus II wasn’t the first to try to complete the “payload” mission. There was an Icarus I and that is where the plot thickens.

All in all, I thought this could’ve been a better movie. The characters were not very developed and I only really liked Chris Evans at the end. Rose Byrne, Cillian Murphy and Evans have all been in better films.

In the end, the film weighed on the importance of human life and what you would do to save our existence. The CGI for the sun was pretty awesome, but there were also some things that were too crazy to believe, like people jumping into space without suits…

Has anyone else seen this? I really want to know what everyone else thinks.

I’ve decided the only movies I like with the word sunshine in the title are:

1. Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind 

2. Little Miss Sunshine 

3. Sunshine Cleaning 

Any other movies you like with sunshine in the title?

2 thoughts on “Please clarify

Type Away:

