So, that’s what that feel’s like

Movie #19: 

I’m going to try to make this as short as I can, because there are soooo many reviews of this out there.

I’ve watched all three of the Nolan-Batman films, but I think I should’ve paid more attention to Batman Begins…that was honestly my least favorite of the films. Nolan ties all three of them together pretty nicely. You could say he got better with age, because in my opinion The Dark Knight was good, but was overrated. The Dark Knight Rises is, in my opinion, the best of the trilogy.

It has a great ensemble of actors, so let’s just get the Inception reunion out of the way: Tom Hardy, plays the main villain Bane, Joseph Gordon-Levitt plays a young detective named Blake who believes in Batman, and Marion Cotillard plays Miranda a Wayne Enterprises board member.

Tom Hardy did a great job acting, which had to have been difficult to do since we couldn’t see his face the whole time. He acted with his voice and his body, but I couldn’t help thinking the whole time he wanted to sound like Sean Connery…did anyone else feel that way? You could really tell he was committed to his role, though. He put his all in to it. He was definitely scary and the terrorist bit gave me the chills.

JGL was honestly awesome. It was a change of pace for him, as his latest films have been, from his awkward-hopeless romantic roles. He was believable as a cop and the ending really got me! I knew as soon as I saw the trailer that he would be who he was…lol, sorry that whole sentence was crazy, but I don’t want to spoil anything!

As far as Cotillard, I feel like she played a similar role to her Inception one. For those who haven’t watched either film…let’s just say I wasn’t very surprised with the turn of events. I don’t know how I feel about her acting, as of right now she irritates me a little bit. She is great at playing dual personalities, though. I’m also glad I didn’t read about the characters and plot ahead of time, there are so many spoilers out there!

Moving right along to Anne Hathaway. I honestly had very low expectations for her. My friends watched and said they hated her as Catwoman, so they shattered any hopes I had, BUT as usual I let my own viewing be my ultimate decision over the whole debate.

Final take: I loved her. I really believe she did a wonderful job! How can so many people disagree??

She was angry, witty, sexy, and in my opinion did a great job at portraying all the different layers of her character. There were so many people expecting her to fail, because she had some pretty big boots to fill, but it’s not about what the cat suit looks like or living up to the name. I think you just need to work with what you’ve got and make it your own, and I think she did that.

As far as Christian Bale: Let me just say I’m not really a fan of his, but I really liked him in this. The Batman that Nolan portrays, is a hero who has hung up his cape. It’s 8 years after the death of Harvey Dent and he is considered a fugitive and an outcast. It’s a very dark film and Bale did an excellent job. He doesn’t want anyone he loves to get hurt again, but he can’t really stop that by hiding away.

There were a few humorous scenes scattered here and there, but I think the most entertaining ones were the scenes he shared with Hathaway.

I think this film tried to say what Superman Returns and what lots of Superhero movies try to do: Sometimes the world needs saving and needs someone to believe in. I think Nolan did a pretty awesome job at hitting it home though.

There were so many characters who said it for us: Blake, Gordon (Oldman), and the little boy at the youth home. Like I said before, the terrorism aspect of the film gave me the chills…it was very intense and dark and the city was just wide open and vulnerable without a hero.

Bruce Wayne has to face his fears and put his past to rest, in order to put on his mask and be at peace with himself. He has suffered enough, physically and mentally and deserves some happiness.

I won’t spoil anything, but I think there was a great sense of closure for everyone, including Alfred (Caine) and Gordon. I really liked the way things ended.

Nolan did a great job at closing out his trilogy, making it hard for any adaptations that may follow.

Type Away:

