I hate you, too

Movie # 18:

Wow. Holy F***! Time for another “What the hell did I just watch?!”

This is more in this category, because it surprised me…but also because it disturbed me.

The movie focuses on the life of a 15 year old girl, Mia (Katie Jarvis). She is an angry Essex teenager, living with an ignorant, floozy mother and younger sister Tyler.

They’re a highly dysfunctional group of women, with an abrasive nature. They live in a not so nice part of town…what some might call the projects.

Their mother is neglectful and abusive, and both girls act older in age than they are-smoking and drinking and speaking vulgarly to each other.

Mia is a young girl, with no intention of respecting her mother (which I honestly understood), and is trapped in a miserable hole, with no immediate future.

She is aggressive, drinks like an alcoholic, has an unwavering curiosity, with no hesitation or fear…that will lead anyone to trouble. Her one passion and dream though, is dancing. (Keep reading, it’s not your typical movie I promise).

She begins to really pursue her dream, in hopes to probably leave her hell, after the encouragement from her mom’s new boyfriend Connor (Michael Fassbender).

I really, really wanted to like him. He was at times trying to be Mia’s missing father figure and seemed like the only person she felt she could talk to…it seemed like that at least.

But, he walked a very fine line between fatherly and “friend.” As soon as he crossed the tiniest line, I knew he was not the person she should be taking advice from.

I really felt for Mia’s character. A young girl with no friends, just lingering through life,  stuck in a place no one wants to be. She is full of attitude though, and doesn’t let anyone mess with her until “Bam!” An older, friendly, good looking man is in her kitchen one morning. Naive and seeking guidance, she turns to someone she thinks understands her. Again Fassbender’s character is the catalyst for conflict.

I kept yelling at her to run away and to go hang out with someone her own age! At one point her reckless bravery leads her to a boy who she gets along with and can possibly relate to. Harry Treadaway is adorable as Billy, but Mia doesn’t take him seriously as some one she can talk to. She has to learn the hard way about growing up, love and trust.

I almost had a heart attack by the end of the film. It doesn’t go the way you would expect a movie to go. That’s why it was good. It was unpredictable. There may have been a few things you might’ve guessed, but not all.

Andrea Arnold wrote and directed this film and it was beautiful. The way her scenes were presented, the way Mia’s shots with Connor were in slow motion-it really made you feel the nervousness and emotion she felt with him.  It really was an intensely written story, and she gave us foreboding shots with the approaching storm clouds. Also, the symbolism in the fishing scene and the horse were very telling, both representing Mia in different ways.

Jarvis was almost in every shot, she was captivating and real. It was her first movie role and I hope it’s not the last.

The ending really got to me. The scene where they all dance, was probably the most affection that family has ever shown each other. It was sad and in the end I felt bad for Tyler the most…that little girl is already so f’d up.

Damn Andrea Arnold, you really know how to play with our emotions.

If you haven’t seen it, I’m recommending it but with a warning label. Don’t see this on a date, or with your parents…well you can if you want. I just put it out there, because my friends always ask me what a good date movie would be, this ain’t it! My friend made the mistake of going to see The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo on her 2nd date with her boyfriend…now she always asks, lol. Anyway, here’s the trailer:

If you have seen it, what did you think? I think if I watched it again I would be prepared, but it would still be hard to watch the last quarter.

9 thoughts on “I hate you, too

  1. Yeah Fishtank’s definitely one of those “WTF” films. I saw it when it came out and love it (story as well as Fassbender at his most lecherous). I actually own it on Criterion Blu-Ray which is great. Sadly Andrea Arnold’s follow-up, a remake of Wuthering Heights, was pretty terrible.

      • I’m a huge fan of the book and while no film adaptation has been completely perfect Arnold’s version is so bitter. It’s like if you took the Fishtank surliness and added it to the Bronte novel. I haven’t seen her short film but I’ve heard good things.

  2. A friend gave me this film a while ago but I haven’t watched it yet. I’m really interested to watch it now after reading your review. I’m a big Fassbender fan.

  3. Yeah that trailer looks pretty intense. I’d be interested to see this if I had the chance. I’m glad you pointed out that it wasn’t another Stomp the Step Up, cos I would’ve written it off after you mentioned the dancing!

  4. I finally watched this film and I had to come back to thank you for the recommendation. It was profoundly disturbing in places and touching in others. You watch a film like this and realise why there are so many screwed up kids out there. Towards the end of the film when Mia goes off with the little girl, I was shouting ‘no’ at my TV screen.

    Really powerful film – almost like watching a documentary. Thanks again for your recommendation!

    • Your welcome, glad you liked it! I felt the same way watching that scene! I had my hands over my face and was peeking through and yelling.You summed up the film really nicely 🙂

Type Away:

