Why I love Mumford & Sons

It takes me a good 25 minutes to get to work, and these past few days I’ve been playing these guys non-stop, both ways. They’re a British “folk-rock” band who I’ve wanted to see for a loooong time now. They don’t like the label “folk” themselves, but that’s what everyone is calling them. I don’t care what they consider themselves, because they’re amazing either way. I missed my opportunity in the city, a year ago, because no one really knew who they were, so I had no one to go with me. BUT, I just bought tickets at exactly noon to see them in NJ. Can’t wait!!

Well anyway, the members are Marcus Mumford (lead singer, etc),  Ben Lovett (vocals, keyboard, etc),  Winston Marshall (vocals, banjo, etc) and Ted Dwane (vocals, string bass, etc). I say etc for all of them, because they’re all widely talented and can play a few different instruments. Sigh No More was their first album. Their success has grown rapidly, in a few years, and I’m looking forward to what they come up with next. Ok, so here I go:

1. Singability: Is that a word? Not sure, but there songs are catchy and the words gets stuck in your head. I travel alone to work, so I blast my music and sing my lungs out to their songs. I get some weird looks from people in other cars, but I don’t care…they can keep listening to Drake, or whoever.

2. Lyrics: Their words are seriously beautiful. Some songs are angry, some are hopeful, most have to do with love…but not all! Some of my favorites include:

The Cave– “Cause I need freedom now, And I need to know how to live my life as it’s meant to be!”

Sister– “Don’t test the ones you love, it’ll only tear us down. If you wanna feel alive, then learn to love your ground, love your ground!”

Roll away your stone- “Seems as all my bridges have been burned, but you say that’s exactly how this grace thing works. Its not the long walk home that will change this heart, but the welcome I receive at every start.”

After the storm– “And there will come a time, you’ll see, with no more tears. And love will not break your heart, but dismiss your fears. Get over your hill and see what you find there, With grace in your heart and flowers in your hair.”

3. They’re a great dynamic. They’re modest, funny and work well together :

4. Last but no least: Live Performance. Like I said, I haven’t seen them live YET, But i have watched a lot of their live shows on Youtube. They seem passionate about EVERY song. Truly. They’re not one of those bands that just sing on stage and go home. I know I will not be disappointed when I see them. There will be banter, there will be jokes, and everyone will be singing out as hard and as loud as they do. This is my favorite video of them singing “Roll away your stone” in Glastonbury:

Any other fans out there? I’m so excited!

Type Away:

