The Quick Review Catch-up

Ok, so I’m behind on my book post…but I have been watching ALOT of movies and I wanted to kind up sum them all up in one post, since its been a little while for reviews. Sorry!

Movie # 7: Hunger (2008), about the “last days” of Bobby Sands (Michael Fassbender), an Irish republican who leads the inmates of a Northern Irish prison in a hunger strike. McQueen’s visuals are engaging, but maybe a little overdone. I know he was going for the grit and the reality/brutality of the prisons, but some scenes seemed longer than necessary. I know a lot of people think this movie was amazing, and I might get a backlash for this, but I thought it was a little overrated. I liked his shots of empty spaces, but the long shots were…loooong.  I feel like I should re-watch the scene where Bobby talks to the Priest for over 20 minutes, because I was really tired that night (as usual) and zoned in and out and I KNOW it was a pivotal scene to the film. It was a fascinatingly acted scene though, Fassbender is becoming a new favorite of mine. All in all,  McQueen achieved his goal of portraying the conditions of the prisons and what the in-mates went through. A dark, violent filled, grit your teeth, hard to watch but hard to look away, film.

On a side-note, IMDB message boards can be so childish and annoying, but sometimes so ridiculous that they’re funny. I found this gem surfing the Hunger message boards: “An ignorant moron can change and become an informed moron. You, however, will remain a douche.”

Movie # 8: The Lucky One (2012), starring Zac Effron, Taylor Schilling, the lovely Blythe Danner, Jay R. Ferguson (of Mad Men) and little Riley Thomas Stewart. I know what you’re going to say…”Why did you waste your money on this?” Well, I respond to that with: “My friends made me do it.” I know peer pressure is not an excuse and should NEVER be a reason for things but, I enjoy a good romantic, girly movie once in a while…but don’t always opt to pay for it. This was acceptable though because, hey Zac Effron has developed into…well, into a man. And it had doggies in it! (Yes I will watch almost any movie with some animals involved.) Overall, it was pretty straight forward in the romantic drama department and as a Nicholas Sparks movie…I always suspect someone will die, that I will cry and two people who are in love will disconnect and then find each other again…but I won’t spoil anything (too late?) Well, it wasn’t amazing but I enjoyed it. I think I should read the book…although I’ve never read a Sparks book, my friend recommended it.

Movie # 9: Trainspotting (1996) **Spoilers Ahead** Starring Ewan McGregor, Johnny Lee Miller, Ewen Bremner, Robert Carlyle…and many more! “I can’t believe you’ve never seen this!!” I know, I know. It’s always been on my list of films to watch, but I never got around to it. I really liked it, but feel like it should be re-watched with subtitles…I may have missed some things. All in all, I loved all the characters and if you didn’t see it spoiler alert: I can’t believe Tommy died of toxoplasmosis! I was hysterically laughing and my sister thought I was crazy…I guess it’s funnier when you work at an animal hospital. Very entertaining, funny and at parts disturbing. Showed the mentality of a drug abuser and the talk of changing…I can’t ever imagine doing something like Heroin and after watching this film it makes me never want to do it EVEN MORE. In the end I really rooted for Renton, but kind of didn’t believe he was going to move on and change (McGregor was so skinny!) They all pretty much stayed the same, except for Tommy. Highly recommend the film and would definitely re-watch it for fun.

Movie # 10: The Piano (1993), Starring Holly Hunter, Harvey Keitel, Sam Neill and Anna Paquin. This film was beautifully shot, but was very dark and a little depressing. The characters were selfish, flawed and raw. I thought it was a strange story, but I thought the characters were portrayed realistically and didn’t fit into a single “cookie cutter” mold and that was slightly refreshing. It was a disturbing story about love and betrayal on a New Zealand Plantation in the 1850’s. Holly Hunter plays a deaf woman, that is stubborn and cold, but finds love in the weirdest way (honestly, Keitel is really creepy in this film, in my opinion AND Sam Neill). I didn’t feel bad for any of the characters in the film, and had a dis-taste for them most of the time, it was kind of like The Scarlet Letter (even though  I love that book)…anyone agree/disagree? They were all trying to be what was expected of them, but in the end your reputation doesn’t matter, its what makes you happy that matters. It was a good film, but I don’t think I could sit through it again, it really stressed me out!

Movie #11: Appalachian Trail (?), a National Geographic documentary. I love hiking in the fall and this trail is minutes from my house. I like watching educational documentaries sometimes,  so I thought this one would be interesting. I learned a lot! It takes about 3-4 months to complete, starts in Georgia and goes all the way up to Maine. People end up bringing more than they need and end up shipping things home, so you end up lighter than when you started! If I didn’t have a job and a dog, I would definitely like to try it one day. I guess I will add it to my bucket-list. I would be scared to trek it alone and of the wild life you would encounter on the way.

I was joking with a friend about it “Hey you’ve been gone for a while, what have you been up to?” “…Hiking.”

Well hope you enjoyed these mini-reviews! I may do more of them in the future. If you’ve seen any of these, what were your takes on them? Like, dis-like, interested in?

2 thoughts on “The Quick Review Catch-up

  1. Michael Fassbender seems to be everyone’s favorite now which makes me sad as I loved him when no one knew who the hell he was…oh fame. Hunger is one of those films I saw once and probably won’t ever watch again as the idea of watching someone starve to death just made me depressed (which I’m sure was the point but still).

    • My sister was also one of the one’s who liked him when he wasn’t famous…it’s well deserved fame though 🙂 I agree with you, it’s a hard movie to watch and I would only re-watch the long shot of them talking

Type Away:

