Trailer Junkie

So to make my movie span wider, I am changing “Limited Trailer Tuesdays” to “Trailer Junkie.” I will still try to go for the limited releases, but it will give me more flexibility in choosing trailers/films. For example today I’m going to write about Drive (2011), Starring Ryan Gosling and Carey Mulligan.

As a Ryan Gosling fan (and I’m not one just because he’s a hunk, but a fantastic actor…and yes I used the word hunk), I was kind of hesitant to see him in an action-type role. If you haven’t seen the film, the first half of the trailer looks like any other action movie, which when first watching it made me lean towards not seeing it. But all of a sudden around 1:40 it becomes a completely different movie. It becomes intensely beautiful and the trailer escalates from an okay one to a profound one.  Those last 40 seconds made me want to go see it for Ryan Gosling alone. At 2:08, you can see the power and chilling nature of his character. It shows you a deep, terrifying, desperate part of the story and that’s why I love this trailer. What do you think of it? Have you seen Drive? It’s on Netflix if you haven’t.

2 thoughts on “Trailer Junkie

  1. I did see Drive! It’s a pretty good movie, just because it’s not an action movie. It’s actually quite a human tale, and Gosling does a lot with this character that could’ve easily gone the way of Jason Statham in The Transporter.

    That said, I don’t think it was an AMAZING film the way the critics proclaimed it to be, but it’s still pretty good.

Type Away:

