What’s a weekend?

I work most weekends, but I know the Countess of Grantham meant it a little differently when she said this. If you haven’t guessed already, I just started watching Downton Abbey on Netflix. I’ve heard all the hype and didn’t understand what the big deal was. Some spoiled, rich British people didn’t get me too intrigued. Well, my sister finally got me to start watching with her…I watched 2 episodes and was hooked!

The characters are all just so deliciously evil or preciously good that it just makes you cringe with excitement when they clash! Gah! I can’t even explain how addicting it is, if you haven’t watched. The writing is so quick and intelligent, making it easy to consume every episode. I’m almost done with the 1st season and don’t know where I’m going to watch the 2nd, apparently the 3rd is coming to PBS in September.

So, I’ll try to explain the plot, without sounding too boring: We get introduced to the Crawley family and their servants, in 1912 after the sinking of the Titanic. With no male heir (a family with only daughters) their estate (Downton Abbey) has to be handed down to a distant male relative. That’s the basis of the story, but the dialogue and interactions between the characters is what gets you. So much so, that I’ve started saying: “You’re being such a Thomas!” and “Pardon, me for living!

It’s a great show and highly recommend it if you like high-tensed dramas and enjoy Masterpiece Classic. Anyone watch the show? What do you think of it? And how can I get my hands on season 2?

Type Away:

