Secrets of Eden

I have to say this book surprised me. Like I said in an earlier post, Bohjalian was suggested to me by a friend, so I had no idea what I was getting myself into. It started off a little dark and depressing and I kinda wasn’t into it at first, but all of a sudden it whacks you with interest.

Basically, the book is about a murder in a small town in Vermont. A woman, with an abusive husband, who ends up dying by his hands. Don’t want to give too much away, (that you can figure out by just reading the book jacket) but what starts off being a murder-suicide case, ends up being a case more challenging for the prosecutors and detectives than they first believed.

The book is split into four parts and is heavy on religion…well it is an it isn’t. I’m not too crazy about organized religion, so the first part being from the pastor’s point of view kind of made me wary if I would enjoy the book or not. But Bohjalian gives his characters depth and complexities. They aren’t cookie-cutter characters. The pastor, Stephen Drew, and all the rest of his characters have their weaknesses and flaws.

So, like I said: Four parts. Each from a different characters perspective. Each with their own suspicions, flashbacks, and theories of what they believed happened that Sunday night to Alice and George Hayward.

I honestly enjoyed this and was flipping through the pages wondering what really did happen that night! I finished this just in time too, because Lifetime has a movie adaptation (a made for TV movie) that will be on this weekend. I’m not a Lifetime watcher, but I seriously want to see how they interpret it. It’s starring John Stamos…I definitely didn’t picture Stephen Drew looking anything like Stamos, but I’ll give it a chance.

I’m glad I read this, because it opened me up to a new author and I’m looking forward to reading more of his books. I’m going to count this as # 2 for my books!

Type Away:

