Kalle F’in Blomkvist

Okay I don’t care what anyone says, Stieg Larsson is a genius and I wish he was still alive to write more amazing literature. The Girl who Played with Fire, was an in-depth look at Salander’s past…well maybe not too in-depth, since there’s still a 3rd book, but it definitely gives you a peak and leaves you wanting more. Especially the end!

I don’t want to spoil anything for anyone who hasn’t read it, but it makes you feel like you fell of a cliff and belly flopped into ice cold water. At least that’s how I felt. Or at least like the season finale of a show, that leaves a huge cliff hanger, that you can’t see the conclusion for until the next summer (i.e. True Blood). I definitely can’t wait to read the conclusion to the series, but I have 2 library books I’ve taken out already. Overdue library books or reading the finale? Oh the dilemma! And now I wish I hadn’t watched all 3 Swedish films, because I certainly felt a rush flipping through the pages, but the secrets didn’t have the intended impact Larsson meant them to have.

Friends who have read it, say its not their favorite of the 3, which surprises me now. There were some slow moments in the middle, especially his detailed description of every piece of furniture bought at IKEA….that was a little excessive. BUT overall I enjoyed the novel (if you couldn’t tell) and am now excited for the next American interpretation. I want to know who will play Paolo Roberto and Mimmi Wu. They definitely need to give her more of a role than they did in the first movie. And of course who will play the “bad guys” (again don’t want to give anything away if you haven’t read it).

So, this is #1 of my fifty/fifty challenge and it’s a great way to start off…or #1 and 2, according to the rules. If you like stories with strong female leads and like a good crime/mystery story, with journalists, police and government corruption then you need to give this book a read. Start with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. As Larsson says, “Salander was the woman who hated men who hate women.”

Read the book? What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Kalle F’in Blomkvist

  1. Saw the Swedish film for this and loved it as well as all the others. Of the three, yes it is the slowest but that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable. I have not read the book however so I do not have much to compare it to. You’re right, I am interested to see what the the next installment of the US version of the trilogy will be like.

Type Away:

